Independent Creative Living - some reading

Think about it: living creatively, for life, was a conference held in Gateshead, 28 June 2016 comprising inspiring presentations and a practical workshop. It was aimed specifically at interested people from the arts, health and wellbeing and housing to explore and debate the issues and strategies and to inform a chain of actions which will lead to development and realisation of the concept of Independent Creative Living as an innovative housing and arts development initiative in North East England. A compilation of some of the resources that those organising this event and furthering the initiative have found informative or inspirational is published here for wider information. Updates added 09/08/2016

Older arts and housing

Baba Yaga House (France) en.rfi.fr/france/20130305-babayagas-house thisgivesmehope.com/2014/02/16/945-frances-baba-yaga-house-is-a-model-for-healthy-aging/

Baba Yaga Place (Canada) www.babayagaplace.ca/about/who-we-are

MPTF Foundation, Los Angeles, www.mptf.com/about

PAL (Performing Arts Lodges), Canada palcanada.org/

Radical Resthomes, Canada www.radicalresthomes.com/why-something-radical/

Rosa Speirs House (The Netherlands) www.rosaspierhuis.nl/

UK Retirement Housing, Frank Knight 2014 www.knightfrank.co.uk/research/reports/uk-retirement-housing-2014-2388.aspx

Research, writing and commentary

Active Ageing: A Policy Framework, World Health Organization, 2002 www.who.int/ageing/publications/active_ageing/en/

Age of Creativity www.ageofcreativity.org.uk

Ageing in public: Creative practice in ageing and the public realm from across the UK, Cubitt Arts Public Wisdom Project cubittartists.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/PublicWisdomPublicationDownloadable.pdf

Cohousing: It makes sense for people with things in common to live together, The Guardian 2015 www.theguardian.com/society/2015/feb/16/co-housing-people-things-common-live-together-older-people

Future of an Ageing Population, Government Office for Science, 2016 https://www.gov.uk/government/...

Community 2.0: Is Cohousing the future of urban design? Towergate Insurance www.towergateinsurance.co.uk/commercial-property-insurance/is-cohousing-the-future

Growing Old Together: The Case for Housing that is Shaped and Controlled by Older People, 2013, Housing LIN www.housinglin.org.uk

Housing our ageing population: Positive ideas HAPPI 3, 2016 www.housinglin.org.uk/_library/Resources/Housing/Support_materials/Other_reports_and_guidance/HAPPI3_Report_2016.pdf

It’s Never Too Late to Begin Again, Julia Cameron via qz.com/702754/the-myth-of-the-young-artistic-genius-is-keeping-us-from-pursuing-our-passions/?CMP=

Kobayashi, L. C., Wardle, J. & von Wagner, C (2015). Internet use, social engagement and health literacy decline during ageing in a longitudinal cohort of older English adults, Journal of Epidemiology & Community Health, Vol 69, Iss 3, pp 278-283 jech.bmj.com/content/69/3/278

Lastingness: The Art of Old Age, Nicholas Delbanco, Hachette Group, 2011 nicholasdelbanco.com/lastingness-the-art-of-old-age/

NESTA: Ageing and innovation www.nesta.org.uk/project/ageing-and-innovation

NESTA: Five a day www.nesta.org.uk/publications/five-hours-day

On late style, Edward Said, 2006 www.nytimes.com/2006/07/16/books/review/16rothstein.html?_r=4&

Physical access and social isolation emerge as key factors linked to decline in arts engagement among older people. www.artsprofessional.co.uk/news/barriers-arts-engagement-deter-older-people-survey-finds?utm_source=Weekly-News&utm_medium=email&utm_content=Barriers-to-arts-engagement-deter-older-people%2C-survey-finds&utm_campaign=22nd-January-2016

Policies and Programs of Support for Senior Artists, Joyce Zemans, York University, Canada, IFACCA 2007 (covers 14 countries) media.ifacca.org/files/dartreport28_olderartistsIFACCA.pdf

Senior cohousing communities – an alternative approach for the UK? Maria Brenton, Joseph Rowntree Foundation 2013 www.jrf.org.uk/report/senior-cohousing-communities-–-alternative-approach-uk

Silver Cities: Realising the Potential of our Growing  Older Population’, Ed Cox et al, IPPR North, Dec 2014 www.ippr.org/north

Tackling Loneliness in Older Age – The Role of the Arts, David Cutler, Baring Foundation, October 2012 baringfoundation.org.uk/

The Creativity and Aging Study: The Impact of Professionally Conducted Cultural Programs on Older Adults, Dr Gene D. Cohen, National Endowment for the Arts and George Washington University, USA April 2006 www.arts.gov/sites/def...

The Wise Body: conversations with experienced dancers, Jackie Lansley, Intellect Books, 2011 www.jackylansley.co.uk/pages/news.htm

With a little help from our friends: Creating Community as We Grow Older, Beth Baker, 2014 www.vanderbilt.edu/university-press/book/9780826519887

University of Newcastle: Ageing Creatively research.ncl.ac.uk/ageingcreatively/aboutourproject/

Winter Fires, Francois Matarasso, Baring Foundation 2012 regularmarvels.com/category/winter-fires/

The Long Life, Helen Small, OUP, 2007 global.oup.com/academic/product/the-long-life-9780199229932?cc=gb&lang=en&

Specialist organisations or projects

Age and Opportunity www.ageandopportunity.ie 

‘Apartments for Life’ (The Netherlands) www.building.co.uk/care-homes-the-new-way-to-get-old/5050512.article

Bealtaine Festival (Ireland) bealtaine.com/what-bealtaine

Carter Burn Gallery, New York City, USA, targets artists over the age of 60. www.carterburdengallery.org/about

Equal Arts www.equalarts.org.uk

Long Live Arts (European consortium) www.longlivearts.eu/

The National Center for Creative Aging, USA  www.creativeaging.org/

Opportunity Knocks: Designing solutions for an ageing society, David Sinclair & Helen Creighton, 2015, collaboration between the International Longevity Centre – UK, Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET), and Engineering Design Centre (EDC) at University of Cambridge www.ilcuk.org.uk/index.php/publications/publication_details/opportunity_knocks_designing_solutions_for_an_ageing_society

The Performance Ensemble - company of performers over the age of 60 from a range of different performance skills and diverse cultures www.theperformanceensemble.com/?page_id=97

Intergenerational initiatives

Art Cart: the legacy project, The Research Center for Arts and Culture (RCAC), USA  artsandcultureresearch.org/art-cart/  includes videos

Bricks, Mortar and Policy Perspectives for Intergenerational Living’, August 2015, Housing LIN www.housinglin.org.uk

 Cohabit Quebec (Canada) www.cohabitat.ca/j3RB/

Day care for children combined into elder care facility USA www.boredpanda.com/preschool-retirement-home-intergenerational-learning-center-ilc/

Co-housing initiatives

Cooperative Housing Ireland www.nabco.ie/  

Canada examples www.radicalresthomes.com/resources/

Nimble Spaces (Ireland) nimblespaces.org/

Older Women's Cohousing, Barnet, London – a shortlisted project in 2016 Housing Awards www.owch.org.uk/

UK Cohousing Network cohousing.org.uk

Women’s Housing Initiative Manitoba (US) www.cbc.ca/beta/news/canada/manitoba/shaking-up-senior-housing-winnipeg-1.3486109

Arts press

Long Live Creative Living, Arts Professional, October 2015 www.artsprofessional.co.uk/magazine/288/case-study/long-live-creative-living